WattWatch/All Michigan utilities
Investor-owned utility
Indiana Michigan Power Company
I&M rates rose 26% since 2019 — the average bill went from $119 to $140 a month.
Computed as revenue ÷ sales from I&M’s own EIA-861 filings, 2019–2024. Not adjusted for inflation. See where that ranks.
The Michigan Public Service Commission sets your rates
Rate changes go through a public docket. Filings, hearing dates, and comment deadlines are matters of public record, and you can file a comment on them.
Dates you could act on
No open comment period right now. The most recent one closed August 11, 2026 (U-22028).
When I&M files a rate case, the Commission issues a notice of hearing that sets three dates: a deadline to petition to intervene, a prehearing conference, and a period for written comments that any customer can file without becoming a party. Michigan law gives the Commission ten months from filing to decide (MCL 460.6a), so a case filed today is decided within the year.
We check the MPSC docket system every night. Rather than watching this page, have the next deadline emailed to you.
What is still undecided
These cases are open before the Commission — some are I&M’s own requests, others the Commission opened on its own motion. Undecided is the only window in which a comment from you counts for anything, so these are the ones worth watching.
- U-21597notice PDFRequested$8.8M
Indiana Michigan Power is asking state regulators to review and settle up its 2025 fuel and power supply costs, including rolling a net over-recovered amount of $8,842,148 in principal and interest into its plan year costs. A prehearing is set for May 7, 2026 by video/teleconference, and anyone interested may take part. Customers can also send a written comment referencing Case No. U-21597 by email or mail, or ask to become a formal party by filing a petition to intervene by April 30, 2026.
- U-22028notice PDF
Indiana Michigan Power Company has asked the Michigan Public Service Commission to review and settle up its renewable energy program costs for the year ending December 31, 2025, including its renewable energy credit compliance and a regulatory liability balance of $21,617,135. A prehearing is set for August 11, 2026 at 10:00 AM by video/teleconference before an administrative law judge. Customers can send a written comment referencing Case No. U-22028 to the Commission, attend the hearing to make a statement, or file a petition to intervene by August 4, 2026.
- U-22012notice PDFRequested$-8M
Indiana Michigan Power Company has asked the Michigan Public Service Commission to review its 2025 energy waste reduction program spending and to adjust the related surcharge on customer bills, reflecting a stated over-recovery of about $7.8 million and total 2025 EWR revenue of ($8,023,893). A prehearing is set for June 11, 2026 by video/teleconference. Customers may attend that hearing to make a statement, file a written comment referencing Case No. U-22012, or file a petition to intervene by June 4, 2026.
What changed your bill
- Approved$36.4M
The Commission approved a settlement agreement covering Indiana Michigan Power Company's energy waste reduction (energy efficiency) plan for 2026 through 2029. Under the settlement, the company will use the state administrator, Efficiency United, to run its efficiency programs and will collect the plan costs from customers through revised energy waste reduction surcharges. The approved two-year plan revenue requirement is $36,430,704, with residential and unmetered customers billed a per-kilowatt-hour surcharge and commercial and industrial customers billed a monthly per-meter charge. The order does not state the dollar change to a typical residential monthly bill or the date the new surcharges begin; the company must file tariff sheets within 30 days.
- Requested$11.4MApproved$10.1M
The Commission reviewed Indiana Michigan Power Company's accounting of what it actually spent on power supply during calendar year 2024 compared with what it collected from customers. The company reported it had collected $11,431,687 less than it spent, but the Commission disallowed some costs, including costs tied to the company's Ohio Valley Electric Corporation power agreement, and set the amount carried forward at $10,089,537 including interest. That balance moves into the company's 2025 power supply cost recovery reconciliation, where it will be collected from customers through the power supply portion of their bills. The order does not state a specific dollar effect on a typical residential monthly bill.
Everything else on the docket (10)
Procedural orders, reconciliations, and cases where no approved figure could be sourced. Kept for completeness — none of these carries a number we can tie to your bill.
The Commission decided on Indiana Michigan Power Company's request to change its Large Power Tariff (Tariff LP) to add terms for very large customers whose electricity demand is at or above 50 megawatts, such as data centers. The order adopts some of the company's proposals and rejects others; for example, it requires a $100,000 upfront administrative fee, reconciled against the company's actual study costs, instead of the company's proposed tiered fee. The company must file tariff sheets reflecting the order within 30 days. The order does not change residential rates, so it has no direct effect on a typical home electric bill.
Indiana Michigan Power asked the Commission to excuse it from certain modeling requirements that normally apply when a utility files a long-term resource plan, saying its own internal modeling approach covers the same ground. The Commission granted the waiver, allowing the company to use its own set of scenarios and sensitivities in the resource plan it intends to file in early 2027. The order does not change rates, and the Commission stated it will not increase the cost of service to customers, so residential bills are unaffected.
Indiana Michigan Power Company asked the Commission to review and reconcile the costs and revenues of its renewable energy plan for the 12 months ending December 31, 2024. The company and Commission Staff reached a settlement agreement covering all issues, and on April 30, 2026, the Commission approved that settlement. The order itself does not state any new retail rate or a change to a typical residential monthly bill.
Indiana Michigan Power asked the Commission for accounting authority to change how it divides the costs of its existing power plants between its Michigan and Indiana retail customers. The case was converted to a contested proceeding at the Attorney General's request, and the parties later reached a settlement agreement, which the Commission approved on April 30, 2026. The order does not set retail rates or a revenue requirement, and it states no dollar amount or bill change for residential customers.
Indiana Michigan Power Company asked the Commission to approve its plan for recovering the cost of the power it buys and generates for customers during the 12 months ending December 31, 2026, including a power supply cost recovery factor of 1.93 mills per kilowatt-hour for January through December 2026. The company, Commission Staff, and the Attorney General reached a settlement agreement resolving all issues, and on March 27, 2026, the Commission approved that settlement. The order itself does not state a dollar amount or a specific change to a typical residential monthly bill.
The Commission approved Indiana Michigan Power's updated voluntary green pricing tariff, known as the Go Green Program, which is offered under the company's IM Green program. The order sets the Go Green Local surcharge at $0.03987 per kilowatt-hour and the Go Green Local credit at $0.01534 per kilowatt-hour, effective with the first billing cycle after the order. These rates apply only to customers who choose to enroll in the voluntary renewable energy program; the Commission stated the change does not increase the cost of service for customers generally.
The Commission approved Indiana Michigan Power Company's power supply cost recovery plan for the 12 months ending December 31, 2025, along with the company's five-year forecast. The approved power supply cost recovery factor is 3.74 mills per kilowatt-hour for the January and February 2025 billing months and 3.58 mills per kilowatt-hour for the March through December 2025 billing months; this factor is the per-kilowatt-hour charge on customer bills that covers the utility's fuel and purchased power costs. The Commission also approved the company's proposed changes to how it allocates demand-related and PJM transmission costs, and it issued a warning that the company may not be able to recover its full costs under the Ohio Valley Electric Corporation Intercompany Power Agreement. Decisions about how the Rockport plant was operated were deferred to the related reconciliation case.
- Requested$0.8M
Indiana Michigan Power asked the Commission to review its 2024 energy waste reduction program costs and revenues and to update the surcharge customers pay for those programs. The company and Commission Staff reached a settlement covering all issues, and on December 5, 2025, the Commission approved that settlement and directed the company to file a revised tariff sheet within 30 days. The order itself does not state the dollar amounts approved; the company's application had requested a total energy waste reduction revenue requirement of $812,201, an incentive payment of $962,484, and treatment of a $218,923 over-recovery balance as of December 31, 2024. Residential bills will reflect the updated energy waste reduction surcharge once the new tariff sheet takes effect.
The Commission approved a settlement agreement between Indiana Michigan Power Company and Commission Staff resolving the reconciliation of the company's 2023 and 2024 demand response program costs. The company may record $1,216,630 of demand response costs plus carrying costs, and a $165,164 financial incentive, as regulatory assets to be recovered in its next general rate case. The order does not change retail rates now, so residential bills are not adjusted by this order; any recovery of these amounts would be addressed in a future general rate case. The company must also propose a shared savings mechanism for 2026 in its next demand response reconciliation filing.
Indiana Michigan Power Company asked the Commission to approve an amended renewable energy plan required by state law, along with a change to its renewable energy surcharge. The parties reached a settlement agreement resolving all issues, and on August 7, 2025 the Commission approved it. As part of the settlement, the company must file a blank replacement tariff sheet for the existing Renewable Energy Surcharge tariff within 30 days. The order does not state any dollar amounts or a specific change to a typical residential monthly bill.
Every figure is quoted from the order it came from — hover a number to see the exact sentence and page. Figures without a quote in the source are not shown at all. Extracted figures are machine-read and not yet checked by a person.
Large load watch
Who pays for the data centers
A single hyperscale data center can ask for more power than a small city. The question in front of the Commission is not whether they get it — it is what they have to commit to in order to get it, and who absorbs the cost of the poles, wires, and generation built for them if the project shrinks or never arrives.
In U-22061, DTE Electric asked to rewrite its Rate D11 and add a provision for customers taking more than 100 MW: a minimum monthly bill regardless of how much power is actually used, administrative fees, a fee for walking away, and collateral up front. Those terms are the difference between a data center carrying its own risk and residential customers carrying it. I&M has not filed a large-load provision of its own. What the Commission approves here is the template the rest of Michigan’s regulated utilities will be measured against.
DTE Electric has asked the Michigan Public Service Commission to change its Rate D11 and add a new provision for very large electricity users, such as customers needing more than 100 MW, including a minimum monthly billing amount, administrative fees, a termination fee, and collateral requirements. The Commission has not decided the case; a prehearing is set for April 28, 2026 by video/teleconference. Customers can attend that hearing, file a written comment referencing Case No. U-22061, or file a petition to intervene by April 21, 2026.
The scheduled dates in this case have passed — the last was May 5, 2026. The case remains open, and an order can issue at any time. This is the one worth having emailed to you.